Drums of War Series:

The Drums of War series introduces young readers to both the renowned leaders and everyday people who fought to preserve the social, political, and religious freedoms of the American colonies. With engrossing detail, Peter Reese Doyle tells the story, not just the history, of American Independence. In the tradition of G. A. Henty, Doyle seemlessly weaves historical truth and Christian virtue into a gripping page-turner. Children will be so involved in the plot, they'll hardly know they're learning!

purchase

Drums of War Volume 1: Independence

In the early morning hours of April 21, 1775, residents of Williamsburg, Virginia, awake to pistol shots and shouts from the night watchman: Governor Dunmore has ordered British Marines to steal colonial gunpowder from the powder magazine!

As the march toward Revolution quickens its pace, two Williamsburg merchant families, the Hendricks and the Edwards, struggle to make a living shipping in waters now patrolled by British warships while their children are caught in the fight for liberty. Andrew and Nathan gallop to nearby counties to deliver messages to the Sons of Liberty, and grow to manhood as they face the enemy at Bunker Hill. On the home front, Rachel and Sarah have their own adventures, saving Patrick Henry from capture so he can lead militiamen to a dramatic showdown with the governor.

Independence is the first book in the Drums of War series. Independence introduces the reader to the Hendricks and Edwards families, Virginia merchants struggling to continue shipping their goods in British-patrolled seas. Young Andrew Hendricks, the series protagonist, begins delivering messages for the Sons of Liberty, and he is soon caught up in the tides of war as he grows to manhood.

About the author: Dr. Peter Reese Doyle is the author of the popular Daring Adventure and Drums of War series for young adults. He and his wife live in Opelika, Alabama, where he pastors Trinity Presbyterian Church.

purchase

Drums of War Volume 2: Bunker Hill

On April 19, 1775, Paul Revere warned Middlesex County, Massachusetts that the British were coming during his famous midnight ride. In Lexington, the first shots of the American Revolution were fired at first light. Then, on June 17 in Boston, outnumbered and poorly equipped American militia defended Bunker Hill against a massive British offensive. The war for American Independence had begun!

In Bunker Hill, Nathan Edwards and Andrew Hendricks continue to aid the colonial resistance, dodging musket balls and cannon shots to serve as couriers for American officers facing a ferocious British bombardment on Boston Harbor. Meanwhile, back home, their sisters are delivering mysterious messages of their own!

Bunker Hill is the second book in the Drums of War series. The first shots of the Revolution are fired. Andrew Hendricks and Nathan Edwards act as messengers for American officers facing the ferocious British bombardment of Boston Harbor. Their parents tell Andrew and Nathan to stay out of the fighting, but it is becoming more and more clear that every able fighter in America might be required to win this war.

About the author: Dr. Peter Reese Doyle is the author of the popular Daring Adventure and Drums of War series for young adults. He and his wife live in Opelika, Alabama, where he pastors Trinity Presbyterian Church.

purchase

Drums of War Volume 3: A Captive in Williamsburg

It's 1775, and George Washington has been selected to command the Continental Army. But just as Virginia starts to send militiamen and supplies to Boston to help wrest the city from British military rule, Virginia herself is threatened with invasion!

Former British governor Lord Dunmore has fortified Norfolk as a base of operations and amassed a fleet to attack Virginia's coastal towns. Now 15-year-old Andrew Hendricks of Williamsburg must race to Norfolk with an important message for Virginia's 2nd Regiment, a message that will play an important part in the Battle of Great Bridge. But back in Williamsburg, Andrew's friend Sarah Edwards is in danger of being captured by British spies for interfering with their plans one too many times!

A Captive in Williamsburg is the third book in the Drums of War series. While George Washington, the newly appointed commander of the Continental Army, works to free Boston, Virginia herself is threatened with invasion. Still only fifteen years old, Andrew Hendricks must race to tell Virginia's 2nd regiment to prepare fpr the assault before it's too late. But back in Williamsburg, Andrew's friend Sarah Edwards knows too much... and is kidnapped by Tories!

About the author: Dr. Peter Reese Doyle is the author of the popular Daring Adventure and Drums of War series for young adults. He and his wife live in Opelika, Alabama, where he pastors Trinity Presbyterian Church.

purchase

Drums of War Volume 4: Charleston

Honed by his recent experience at Bunker Hill and Great Bridge, Drums of War hero Andrew Hendricks returns in the fourth installment of Peter Doyle's popular young adult series this time in Charleston, South Carolina, at the Battle of Sullivan's Island.

Soon after Andrew uncovers an insidious Tory plot in their hometown of Williamsburg, Virginia, duty calls the young patriot to set sail for South Carolina to deliver an important message: By sea and by land, the English are planning to take the capital city of Charleston, one of the most important ports in America, and begin a full-scale invasion of the South but the locals have no idea! The only thing stopping the British is a small, weak-seeming fort on Sullivan's Island. Can it withstand the full power of the British navy?

The clock is ticking for Andrew Hendricks and his woodsman mentor, Matthew Anderson, to get word to Governor Rutledge and his forces before Admiral Peter Parker and General Henry Clinton of the English military overwhelm the Patriots' small, incomplete fort on Sullivan's Island in Charleston Harbor.

Join Andrew Hendricks once again as he battles the waves, woods, Brits, and politics of 1776 in an effort to defend Charleston at all costs; and witness the masterful storytelling of Peter Doyle as he recounts with great detail the culture, geography, figures, and warfare of Colonial America.

About the author: Dr. Peter Reese Doyle is the author of the popular Daring Adventure and Drums of War series for young adults. He and his wife live in Opelika, Alabama, where he pastors Trinity Presbyterian Church.

purchase

It Takes A Backbone to Raise Teriffic Kids by Carol DeMar

You've seen it before: a little brat in a store screaming for candy while parents, red-faced from shame or anger, try their hardest to bargain him into obedience. It doesn't have to be that way. In It Takes a Backbone to Raise Terrific Kids, Carol DeMar gives practical advice on how to parent for the long haul. There is no one-size-fits-all formula for child-rearing, but a failure to follow God's plan has wreaked havoc on the American family. It's not easy to have terrific kids, but it's not complicated either. If you have little hair left to pull out... if you've gone hoarse repeating the same unheeded instruction... if your children regularly embarrass you in public... it's time for a change. It's past time already to grow a backbone-this book can tell you how.

This is not a book for sissies! Spineless parents are raising self-centered and over-indulged descendants. Teacher, reading consultant, and parent Carol DeMar gives practical helps, provides examples (good, bad and ugly) and Scripture verses for reinforcement and encouragement, along with a dose of humor to assist parents as they raise their children. DeMar emphasizes that good parenting begins with the wedding vows, long before children enter the picture. It Takes a Backbone to Raise Terrific Children will help parents find their backbone so they may begin to love their children the way God intended.

About the Author: Carol DeMar holds a B.S. degree in Elementary Education. She was a reading consultant for MacMillan Publishing Company, taught school at the elementary level, and home schooled her own children. In addition to her involvement in Christian education as a teacher, Carol is currently a board member of Midway Covenant Christian School and serves on the Board of Trustees of Dominion Christian High School. Carol and her husband are the parents of two grown sons and reside in Marietta, Georgia.